Mad Max: Fury Road (2015)
It was a hot friday morning, not really much to do. I read some reviews on Reddit on how awesome the new Mad Max movie was. Some were even touting it as the best action movie ever. I took these comments with a grain of salt. Obviously these people were probably too young to have watched the previous 3 Road Warrior movies.
Onto the movie. Basically its just a 2 hour chase movie. Not unlike the level in COD4 where you race through the level only to realize at the end that you need to make your way all the way back to the beginning. Simple. The action is pretty good and the sequences make effective use of a lot of practical effects unlike most movies nowadays. I would suggest seeing this in 2d rather than 3d. 3d makes some sections look really muddy and the action gets a bit distorted.
The ToeCutter from the very first MadMax movie makes an appearance in this movie as Immortan Joe, the aging leader of a group of albinos with varying degrees of genetic defects. These guys prowl the desert looking for human "blood bags" to prolong their limited lives by taking in pure blood. Max ends up as one of these for the first 20+min of the movie. There's not a whole lot of dialog in this movie and I can sorta appreciate that the director/producers decided to focus on action scenes. Watch it!


